top of page

Hi! Nice to Meet'cha!

A Long Islander by birth and a Lake Charlesian by DMV/OMV records ;), I was raised by a gym owner turned financial analyst turned public safety official dad and a special education teacher turned professional photographer mom alongside two siblings, a 17-year-old baseball buff brother and a 23-year-old Vanderbilt grad and current epidemiology student sister (and two dogs, many fish, and a lizard). I grew up playing outside in the woods and at the beach, quickly developing a love for animals and plants and even microbes (I even asked for and received a light microscope for my 9th birthday).


Well, love turned to passion, and I accepted the Presidential Scholarship Award to study Environmental Biology and Spanish at Tulane almost a year to the day of winning third place at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair for my team’s work on fuel cells and environmental management. At Tulane I began authoring and presenting materials about bystander intervention in the context of sexual violence prevention, fundraising and running social media for an ecotourism venture in Ecuador, conducting research at Tulane in Ecuador and at the Audubon Zoo, and I’m now in the final stages of publishing a scientific journal article with my masters (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, May 2020) advisor. While studying I also took on a variety of roles at the Audubon Zoo and Nature Center, which was enriching and wonderful. I loved Tulane and the Zoo and my time there, but by the time I graduated with my Masters I was ready to move on. In June 2020, I moved to Baton Rouge to start as an Upper School Biology teacher at the Dunham School! I LOVE teaching more than I even expected I would - I joke with my students all the time that they really are my best friends.


As for who I am as a person, I’m a dynamic learner and educator who employs a wide variety of methods to ensure my students are receiving a diverse and engaging education. I do scientific illustrations in my free time, mostly of birds, which were my primary area of study during my academic career. I’m also an avid birder and hiker, as a result. I’m a distance runner currently training for a marathon (up to 20 miles now, so close!!) and I’m getting back into swimming as well. I love to cook, walk my dog, collect and pin entomological specimens, watch my HS girls team play soccer, read, write, and listen to true crime podcasts. I’d describe myself as reliable, outgoing, and patient; I pride myself on my organization and commitment to tasks. But mostly, I’d say I’m pretty dang fun!

While you're here, why not check out my résumé by clicking on the attachment button below?

bottom of page